Asko|Schönberg: The Living Mountain

It is about discovering the beauty of the mountains in one specific sound, in one look, in one single picture the eye captures […]. It is about hearing the whole universe of music in one cry of a bird or in a waterfall a mile away. And it is about hearing, feeling and experiencing yourself, being completely "inside yourself" and at the same time "seeing yourself" from outside” (T. Larcher)

Austrian composer Thomas Larcher has written a new work for Asko|Schönberg: The Living Mountain. A work like a journey in word, image and sound, inspired by images of the mountainous landscape of South Tyrol by celebrated artist-photographer Awoiska van der Molen. Those photos will also be shown during the concert. In addition, Larcher drew on the book The Living Mountain by the Scotsman Nan Shepherd.

Thomas Larcher talks about his new work, The Living Mountain, on this Discover page.


Members of the Ensemble Academy

Gregory Charette conductor
Sarah Aristidou soprano
Awoiska van der Molen
visual artist


Larcher - Madhares
Ayres - No. 34b
Takemitsu - Landscape 1
Larcher - The Living Mountain (wereldpremière)



Sat 30 April 2022 20.15 - 21:30


Concertgebouw, Kleine Zaal

More info

For more information and tickets click here.