Ensembles and Soloists of the Classical Music Department - Radio West Concert

All events

Sun 25 March 2018 16:00

Claude Debussy (arr. Arnold Schönberg) - Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Maurice Ravel - Trois poèmes de Stéphane Mallarmé
Alban Berg (arr. Klaus Simon) - 4 Stücke op. 5
Gustav Mahler (arr. Arnold Schönberg) - Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen

Music that was written at the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th centuries. Music that is rooted in the Late Romantic Period, on the one hand, and the new music represented by the impressionism of Debussy and Ravel and the twelve-tone music of the second Vienna School, on the other. And all that in a period of less than 30 years. A truly revolutionary period in music history!
Both Claude Debussy and Maurice Ravel to write the compositions in this programme by the French poet Stéphane Mallarmé.
Alban Berg composed his Vier Stücke in the same year as Ravel wrote Trois Poèmes, but what a difference in idiom! These miniatures were written by Berg for clarinet and piano according to the twelve-tone technique of his mentor Schönberg (who was in fact only moderately impressed by the work). In the arrangement for an ensemble the sometimes complex texture and the rapidly changing tempos and dynamic are even nicer than in the original.
Precisely the opposite is done in the version of the Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen by Gustav Mahler. The original version for a large orchestra is now reduced to a version for an ensemble. But because there is also a version for piano, one could also argue the opposite. The technique of reduction is in any case due to Schönberg, who arranged a number of orchestral works for ensembles for his Verein für musikalische Privataufführungen. 



Sun 25 March 2018 16:00


Lutherse Kerk, Lutherse Burgwal 7, Den Haag

Entrance fee

€6,- incl. drankje