Gergiev Festival – Prokofjev

Ivan Hut, conductor
Thomas Goff, conductor
Karen Su, soloist

Sergei Prokofiev
Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19

Sergei Prokofiev
Scythian Suite, Op. 20

The Classical Music department will open the season with its traditional appearance at the prestigious Gergiev Festival. However, the format will be slightly different this year. The maestro will first give a public master class for two young conductors, who will then wield the baton for the concert themselves. For the occasion, the two conductors, Ivan Hut (Codarts) and Thomas Goff (National Master in Orchestral Conducting), will be leading the Symphony Orchestra of the Royal Conservatoire and Codarts. This format is Gergiev’s way of demonstrating that his commitment to young musicians also extends to young conductors. The programme consists of two works by one of his favourite composers, Sergei Prokofiev.

This programme is produced with the help of students from the Art of Sound department.



Sat 15 September 2018 14:15


De Doelen, Schouwburgplein 50, Rotterdam

More info

Entrance fee

€ 10,- to € 39,-