Symphony Orchestra of the Royal Conservatoire and Codarts - Punch Card Concert

All events

Thu 14 December 2017 16:30

Jac van Steen, conductor
Irene Comesaña Aguilar, piano

Béla Bartók – Piano Concerto No. 3 in E major, BB 127
Johannes Brahms - Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

The Hungarian composer Béla Bartók was greatly inspired by the folk music of his own country and Romania, but the rise of Nazism caused him to move to the United States in 1940. His wrote his third piano concerto as a birthday present for his wife, Ditta. It was his last completed work, save the last seventeen bars. Bartók wrote the piece on his deathbed, fighting against the clock and in the knowledge that he would not be able to realise any more of his ideas for new works.
Brahms’ later works also contained Hungarian influences, perhaps due to his collaboration with the Hungarian violinist Reményi. But there was no sign of them in his first symphony, which the renowned conductor Hans von Bülow dubbed ‘Beethoven’s Tenth’ at the time.
In 1956, the unknown composer György Ligeti fled to the West, finally settling in Hamburg, Brahms’ birthplace. Ligeti studied with Sándor Veress, a student of Béla Bartók. In the words of the composer, Lontano (From a distance), composed in 1967 for a large orchestra, symbolises the opening and closing of a window on long submerged dream worlds of childhood. 

This is the third in the Punch Card Concert series.



Thu 14 December 2017 16:30


Arnold Schönbergzaal, KC

Entrance fee