The Royal Conservatoire and the Royal Academy of Art merged to form the College of Expressive Arts, Music and Dance on 1 January 1990. In the middle of 2010 the university was renamed the University of the Arts The Hague.

The history of the Royal Academy of Art dates back to 1682 – it is the oldest art academy in the Netherlands and one of the oldest in Europe – and the Royal Conservatoire was founded in 1826 – making it the oldest in the Netherlands. Coinciding with the formation of the University of the Arts in 1990, the two institutes formed a joint Interfaculty for Image and Sound (now ArtScience). This programme immediately underlined the university’s innovative nature. Founded in the 1970s, the School for Young Talent for extremely talented musicians and dancers between the ages of 10 and 18 was expanded to encompass the visual arts soon after 2000.

Curiosity, creativity and independence are the three core values shared by every student at the University of the Arts.

The Royal Conservatoire is the faculty of music and dance and the Royal Academy of Art is the faculty of art and design. The two faculties jointly offer the Interfaculty ArtScience and the School for Young Talent. The university is managed on a day-to-day basis by the Executive Board and also has a Board of Governors.

More information on University of Arts the Hague